Tags

, , , , , ,

Fridays are so full of promise. The weekend may not end up being what you imagined it to be, and, invariably, it ends too quickly, but right now, its all stretching before me and its wonderful.

Something that is not so wonderful: Urban Outfitters Fall 2012 Magazine. I received it in the mail yesterday. I don’t ever remembering wanting this to come to me in the mail, and, after looking through it, definitely didn’t want it coming to me ever, ever again. Have you seen it? I admit, I’ve never been a huge Urban fan. I own a few of their grandpa sweaters and I always try to buy their shoes because some of them are rather cute. But, after popping them on, I can’t get them off fast enough. Perhaps I’m not fashion forward enough? But please, someone tell me, how is this fashion forward?

Why?

I don’t get it, I’m sorry, I don’t.

This might be the worst

Weren’t these the kids in “Clueless” that Cher asks if they “prefer ‘fashion victim’ or ‘ensembly challenged'”? 

And since I’m on the subject of “Clueless,” I found Cher was a pretty good example of my expression while perusing Urban’s Magazine:

“As If!” 

If you don’t share my opinion, I’m sorry….I guess. I would really like to know who they’re appealing too though. Urban has always sought to offer funky items to their otherwise perhaps mainstream consumer, but come on! This goes way past funky, we’re teetering on trashy, flirting with homeless, and coming up looking awfully crazy. In case you do share my opinion, I don’t want to see you off into the weekend with bad memories, so here’s a few “do’s” to Urban’s “don’ts.” Refinery29.com and streetpeeper.com are fun new sites I stumbled across. They have actual pictures of real urbanites roaming the streets and sporting their fashion decisions. I don’t like all of them, maybe not even many of them, but here are some special ones to soothe your eyes after all that Urban Ugh.

Still funky, but oh so much more chic. Yes please. 

A retro print done modern with some super sleek hair. 

The shoes are a bit over the top but this pink, matching pencil skirt and sweater is a perfect combo of femininity and power..I think Cher Horowitz would even approve…

…success!

Here’s true urban beauty…get it right Urban Outfitters.

Hope that Urban-bash wasn’t too much for you if you’re a fan, but I think the fact that they sent me an unsolicited magazine with such horrifying style made me feel the need to defend myself!

My best friend and current grad-school-student-slave sent me this quote from Marcel Proust (1871-1922), french novelist, critic, and essayist. When replying to his own query of who his favorite heroines of fiction were, he stated, “those who are more than women without ceasing to be womanly; everything that is tender, poetic, pure, and in everyway beautiful.” Here’s to your weekend, hope this has inspired you to never stop ceasing to be tender, poetic, pure, and in everyway beautiful in all that you do-and wear!

-<3 A.

