Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Since I talked about shoe-emotions yesterday as an easy way to change how you’re feeling about your style-mood without doing a complete closet-swap or spending some serious $$$, I thought this week might be a good one to do a little mini-series on some essential accessories that keep elegance in your everyday.

Even though I love the onset of colder days and the chance to wear fuzzy things, sometimes dressing during the fall and winter months mean feeling a little like Randy from the 1983 classic, “A Christmas Story.”

Even with the best intentions of wearing lovely coats and handsome, tailored things, sometimes being warm means being really not very cute. Pile on layer after layer and soon no one really knows what’s under all that fluff. Despite the gradual decline of gender specificity with the progress of winter however, an essential accessory to keep you girly even beneath the thickest, androgynous hoodie is a little splash of perfume.

Having a signature scent can be fun. My favorite thing is to have a special perfume I only wear on date nights or special occasions and then some cheaper stuff to have to throw in your purse for the everyday. I am still savoring my last few drops of one of my favorite perfumes that I poured into my vintage perfume bottle. It’s nothing pricey, but I absolutely love it:

For all my fellow Target-lovers, you probably know the British-based company, Soap and Glory, used to happily grace Target’s shelves. But, sadly, they decided to no longer distribute their product across the seas and I have been saving every last drop of mine for only the best of days. I believe Sephora is going to be their new American distributor but I haven’t made it out to check and see if I can resupply.

I had such fun browsing some vintage perfume ads last night, I didn’t realize how much the marketing for perfume had changed. When you think of modern advertisements for the latest celebrity scent, you usually find some provocative ad with a ridiculous title. Some of my favorites that I found were “be devoured,” “be a sinner,” and, the topper: “The Modern Courtesan.” All of them, like this one from Givenchy, were posed as the “new feminine fragrance” and apparently spoke for the mass market of women as something they aspired to. Really though? The modern courtesan?

For 2012, it seems as if the perfume market hasn’t progressed much in the way they see women, or, the way they see what women want. In fact, comparing them to ads from the 1940s and 50s, it seems we may have been traveling the wrong side of the upward moving escalator.

In this 1948 ad for the Yardley perfume line “Bond Street,” the description of the scent reads that it recalls “exquisite ladies and gracious ways. Elegant and romantic, it is a perfume full of excitement and meaning for women who want to be distinguished.” That’s quite different from a courtesan. Last time I checked, despite being clients for the “wealthy and distinguished,” the Merriam-Webster’s first definition for the courtesan is still, “a prostitute.” For me, I’d rather be a “Bond Street” girl from the golden era of elegant glamour rather than a “liberated” woman of the modern malls.

– ❤ A. 

