Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I think my love for classic things comes from my distrust of anything other than the original. I don’t like it when Disney makes Peter Pan II. I hate it when someone tries to “finish the story” that the original author never intended to extend further than the final page of their book. Go to any Barnes and Noble and you’ll find numerous attempts at these “part twos” and adaptations. It’s just not the same though. Give me the classic, and let my own imagination evolve what has been left unfinished for a reason.

Yet, in spite of myself, I have fallen in love with an adaptation. Somehow, I stumbled across babylit.com. They have re-done classic novels like Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice, Romeo and Juliet, and Dracula into board-books; Adorable board-books:

It’s impossible not to love them. The graphics and patterns are so cute and its a brilliant way to share some classic-love to little people who are many years away from being able to enjoy the originals on their own. Besides being so much fun, each book also holds a little lesson. Some, like Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre, are counting books:

Others, like Alice in Wonderland, teach colors:

I really can’t help myself. So much so that I’ve actually contemplated them for myself. Besides their books, BabyLit has also recently added to their product-line new totes, buttons, prints, and–my favorite–character dolls:

I have to say I’m a new fan; a big one. I might have to let down my only-the-original rule and indulge in this adaptation, it’s pretty irresistible.

    – ❤ A. 

