Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I love when friends suggest blog-ideas, it makes me feel like I’m writing for the people I love instead of just writing for myself. It was one of these dear friends who suggested I use the term “miette.” It’s a french word meaning “crumb” and since recipes are a little piece (crumb) of this blog, I thought how perfect it was!

So, here’s a Christmas crumb for this week’s recipe: Persimmon drop cookies with dark chocolate chunks…yum, yum!

Persimmon Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Persimmon cookies are a rather dark-horse in the holiday recipe list. I’ve discovered that many people have never heard or even tasted them, and I’m always shocked because they’re so delicious and a nice change from the usual flavors of Christmas.

Persimmon Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Persimmon chocolate chunk cookie recipe

1 tsp. baking soda
1 cup persimmon puree
2 and 1/4 cups flour
1/2 tsp. each ground cinnamon and nutmeg
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 egg
1 cup sugar
1 cup chocolate (or raisins) 
1 cup chopped nuts

A note on Puree:

Really the only thing unusual about this recipe is the persimmon puree, otherwise, it’s just like a chocolate-chip cookie. If you’ve never had a persimmon, and are getting a little worried at this point about including a strange fruit into your Christmas-treat-list, don’t be! The flavor, once baked, is extremely mild and oh-so-delicious. There are two common kinds of Persimmons floating about that you might have heard of: the Fuyu and the Hachiya. The ones you need for this recipe are Hachiyas:

Persimmon cookie recipe

If you wrinkled your nose at that picture, sorry! To bake these fruits into yummy little miettes though, you have to wait until they are super soft and ripe. Once they are, just cut out the little top-notch and spoon out the inside of the fruit. I needed about three fairly small persimmons to get a cup:

persimmon cookies

If the persimmon is ripe, the skin pretty much slides right off, but I always put the puree into a glass measuring cup to make sure no little pieces slide off into my cookies. Stir the baking soda into the puree and let it stand for about 5 minutes until it thickens.

  • Combine flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt (I usually add a bit more spice if you like an extra cinnamon/nutmeg flavor but you don’t have to).
  • In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar; beat in egg, then stir in the persimmons.
  • Add flour mixture to the large bowl until it forms a soft dough, then stir in the nuts and chocolate (or raisins). I used crushed, dark chocolate pieces from a larger bar but you could, of course, just use chocolate chips.

Persimmon cookies

persimmon cookies

  • Place on an ungreased, baking sheet and bake in a preheated, 350° oven for about  12-15 minutes or until the edges are lightly browned and centers spring back. (makes about four dozen)

persimmon cookies

And that’s it! These cookies are the perfect mix of spice, fruit, and of course chocolate, that just screams– Christmas!

holiday dessert recipes

holiday dessert recipe

holiday dessert recipes

I’ll admit, while taking these pictures I couldn’t resist eating far, far too many of them, and even crumbs, once compiled, are quite the meal! Hope you enjoy, I’ll warn you though, they’re irresistible!

– ❤ A. 

