Tags

, , , , , ,

jane austen sketchPlain Jane: “I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.”

-Jane Austen in Pride and Prejudice 

It is of course Jane’s character Mr. Darcy who says these words about his love for Elizabeth. I think the best sorts of love are the ones you find yourself in the middle of without seeking out the beginning of it. Darcy and Elizabeth didn’t try and make anything work, it suddenly just did when they both recognized their own failings were so much greater than the flaws they thought they saw in each other, and they loved each other all the more for having been loved through their own shortcomings. I think modern love could learn quite a bit from Jane Austen, despite her romance and fiction, there’s a whole lot of real emotion and real character flaws that her characters learn to love, and live, very happily with.

