Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

diy valentines handstitched place cards

February has given me a serious DIY obsession, I really truly can’t help it. Behind Christmas preparations, Valentines-Day-decking is my holiday fave. I love it because it’s sort of an under-dog holiday, we all trundle off to work and school just like any other day, but its the only day of the year that everyone pauses a moment to put a little more thought into an everyday “I love you.” Sometimes though, there’s too much pressure for a Valentines, so, if you have nothing planned, or don’t have time to do a special dinner, why not a tea for two? These hand-stitched place-cards are the perfect thing to say “I think you’re pretty special” to whoever you’re spending your valentines with without leaving you nursing your wallet-wounds after all the love is over:

DIY Place-cards

valentines diy

You Will Need: batting, fabric scraps, embroidery thread, ribbon, thick-coated wire, embroidery needles.

Steps

valentines diy

  • Cut two 4 inch by 4 inch hearts out of whatever fabric you like (small prints are best for the monogram initial to show well)
  • Put the two RIGHT sides together and sew along the edge
  • Leave a little hole on one side so you can turn the heart right-side out again as well as a hole at the bottom for the wire to fit into later
  • Flip inside out (“right-sides” out) and iron flat

valentines diy

  • Add initials: this is the trickiest part. Only stitch through the FIRST layer of the heart otherwise you won’t be able to fill it with batting. If it’s easier for you, stitch the initial on one piece of fabric before sewing them together. I was worried I wouldn’t get my letter centered if I embroidered first though so that’s why I did it this way.

valentines diy

  • Stuff a little batting through the hole of the heart until it’s stiff
  • Stitch the side hole closed

valentines diy

  • Cut about ten inches of thick coated wire, shape into a heart and bring the long side up straight
  • Fit the long side of the wire into the heart until it looks like it will stand on it’s own

valentines diy place cards 

  • Secure the heart to the wire by adding a little ribbon tied in a bow and you’re done!

I’m pretty proud of this project. When DIY’s go well I feel so creatively charged and powerful.  I think this must be how Martha Stewart feels everyday: just popping out beautiful things all over the place. Must be nice Martha Stewart, must be nice. If you don’t feel like feeling a bit like Martha though, you can buy these place-cards over at my Etsy shop. They turned out so well I thought I should probably share my success with the masses so they’re now up for sale! Enjoy!

valentines diy place cardsvalentines-diy-place-cardsvalentines-diy-place-cards

valentines-diy-place-cards– ❤ A. 

Posts Like This: 

     DSC_0681 copy

DIY Valentines Hanging Bead Hearts

