Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

dancer diaries

After my Valentine rush, brainstorming for a new post-series seemed a little lackluster without all of my hearts. Without being quite so literal though, I decided February 15th didn’t have to spell the end of all things hearts, so my new series is all about some of the things I “heart” and one big one is dance. After seventeen years of being a dancer, there’s quite a few life lessons you can take from the stage that surprisingly translate quite well into the everyday. I’m planning on sharing a few of mine and hopefully you’ll be seeing some fellow dancers guest-posting as well in the coming weeks.

dancer diaries one

Once your hair is tucked safely in a bun, suddenly the world seems so much more manageable. Perhaps it’s from years of being under the sharp eye of my childhood ballet director, where allowing a loose hair-wisp to fall from your bun was equivalent to plotting first-degree murder, but, she was right: with your hair out of the way, suddenly you can concentrate, see more clearly, and know you can take on the choreography of your looming dance day.

updos

updos

Images via

Messy or smooth, an up-do can instantly get me into the “watch out, my hair is up and I can do anything” mood. Its like switching from sneakers to heels, changing from yoga pants to a pencil skirt. An up-do means I mean business, I know what I’m doing, I am doing this, and things are under control. An up-do is instant head-organization. Once your hair-chaos is in order, suddenly your brain is too and it feels oh-so-good. When I was casted for a character that had to be danced with my hair down, I inwardly groaned because I knew it was yet another thing to stress about once I took my cue and took the stage. Waking up in the morning to start your day, don’t let your hair interfere: stick a pin in that monster, tame your tresses, and conquer your world.

(Don’t know how to use a bobby pin the “right” way? Check out this post for some tips)

– ❤ A. 

Posts Like This: 

bridget bardot E.L.F. products  DIY facial  Brigitte Bardot Hair Tips               Makeup Tips                   At-Home Facials

