Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

lemon poppyseed cake

On Mother’s Day, I made that cake I mentioned on Monday. It’s a little bit involved but it turned out so delicious, looked beautiful, and, after all, it was for my mum so it was definitely worth it. I got the original recipe here. I didn’t change too much, only added some lemon extract here and there for added lemon flavor:

for the cake

  • Preheat oven to 350°. Butter and flour 2, 9 inch cake rounds.
  • Whisk together four, baking powder, salt, poppy seeds. Set aside.
  • Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites on medium speed until foamy. Add cream of tartar and beat until stiff peaks form.
  • Using another bowl with the mixer, beat butter until smooth. Add sugar, lemon zest, and lemon extract and beat until fluffy. (the original recipe didn’t call for lemon extract but I wanted the cake to have a stronger lemon flavor. It wasn’t super strong even with the teaspoon added so if you love lemon, go ahead and add two teaspoons). 
  • Add 1/4 cup of the milk and blend.
  • Alternate adding the rest of the milk and the flour mixture.
  • Using a spatula, fold in the egg whites. Be careful not to deflate them! 
  • Pour batter into the pans and bake until golden, 25-30 minutes (It only took mine about 23 so keep a careful watch).

for the curd

  • Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat.
  • Add raspberries, egg yolks, sugar, salt.
  • Let cook about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally (the original recipe said to pour the mixture through a strainer after cooking but I didn’t have any large enough pieces to strain out so I skipped that step. Perhaps if you used fresh berries you would need it)
  • Add lemon juice to taste and then chill mixture until ready to layer with the cake.

icing

  • Using the electric mixer, beat together cream cheese, butter
  • Add powdered sugar, lemon zest, and lemon extract (most cream cheese frosting recipes call for double the sugar but I don’t like it that sweet so add as much as your sweet self desires. I also used lemon extract instead of vanilla to boost the lemon taste). 

After you’ve made all the elements, layer the raspberry curd between the two cake layers and ice the whole thing. For the decoration, I sprinkled some poppy seeds on top, made a lemon flower out of the lemon rind just like I made the felt flowers way back on valentines, and added a few lemon leaves just to be fancy. Keep the cake in the fridge until you’re ready to serve, the icing is better a little cold and cutting it is a whole lot easier.

lemon-poppyseed-cake

If (or actually when) I make this cake again, I think I shall cut the two cake rounds in half and layer in more raspberry curd because the filling was so delicious. Other than that tweak, this was a huge success. My sis-in-law even said it was the best thing I’ve ever made, and, might I add, that compliment was completely unsolicited by me…it was the cake itself that inspired those words so you must believe this cake is top notch!

raspberry curd

lemon poppyseed cake with raspberry filing

lemon poppyseed cake with raspberry curd

lemon raspberry cake– ❤ A. 

Posts Like This: 

header   header   blackberry vanilla icebox cake

 15 minute Cream Puffs      Shamrock Pound Cake                Icebox Cake

