Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

estatesale

vintage cameras

vintage cameras

belted vintage suitJuly has been a sort of estate sale mecca. My fav vintage store sends out almost weekly emails when an estate sale is happenin’ somewhere around my town, along with a few pictures to tease VIP shoppers on their list into coming to the sale. **Yep, I’m VIP status and it feels good.** It’s always rather thrilling to look through the pictures and see if this week’s sale is a goldmine for my current fancies. I never really understood the people who shop for fun, to me the store-crawl is kind of exhausting, but for some reason, the estate sale bug is a different kind of monster. I suppose because there’s such an element of mystery. If you go to a store, you have a certain idea of what you’re going to find, but an estate sale? There’s untold treasure there and the hunt for it is the best kind of adventure.

I’ve mentioned it before but my blog is currently undergoing a behind-the-scenes makeover (soon to be launched!). The wonderful designer I’m teaming up with to help me with the VMMV facelift asked me to do a little homework to help the re-design along and one of my assignments was to come up with a color palette that inspired me. Easier said then done. Having a favorite color is one thing, but creating a cohesive palette is difficult! There’s so many different colors I love and so many different combos that look great together but the easiest way I discovered is to just start to track down what colors you’re attracted to again and again: what sweater color on a rack of twenty calls you over to pull it out for a closer look? What swatch of fabric catches your eye on an aisle of bolts? What outfit combo do you wear almost weekly? Why is that clutch your favorite? So, for the last few weeks, I started tracking the things I was drawn to when I was out hunting and sure enough, a palette quickly emerged: A cobalt blue bottle collection, blue and green teacup patterns, a host of black and white vintage cameras (one of those had to come home with me), a fantastic white tufted headboard, an eclectic mix of chairs, and a lime-colored vintage suit complete with a belt, buttoned, faux pockets, a fantastic low back, and a price tag too high for my adoration of it to overcome my better sense. After I looked at my pictures, I went to Valspar’s pretty genius color selector and found actual colors that matched the hues from the objects I kept looking at and that was that: a palette! This isn’t the final one I’m going with for my blog, but it’s one of my faves just the same and it happened pretty much painlessly.

– ❤ A. 

 Posts Like This: 

elle collage    Collages2

Coast to Coast Vintage        In Your Wildest Dreams

